Donate to MPAS

Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to MPAS. Each and every dollar donated makes a difference to individuals in Michigan with disabilities.



I Have a Question About...

Coming soon!

Please contact our office about:

  • Abuse and Neglect
  • Assistive Technology
  • Community Supports
  • Criminal Justice
  • Restraint and Seclusion

We do not help with...

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Our new e-newsletter delivers news and updates right to your email inbox.

Sign Up

Michigan Protection & Advocacy Service, Inc. Board of Directors

The governing board for Michigan Protection & Advocacy Service, Inc. (MPAS) is comprised of 14 individuals who are diverse in terms of age, ethnicity, geographical location, gender and disability. A majority of the governing board members must be individuals with disabilities or have an immediate family member with a disability.

By law, the agency implementing the federally mandated protection and advocacy systems must be independent from providers of services to persons with disabilities with the exception of providers of legal advocacy services. Occasionally individuals who have a service provision role may serve on the governing board. In such cases, their potential conflicts of interest must be disclosed.

The board oversees and approves budgetary, priority, and policy issues and generally meets four times a year. The board committees sometimes meet in between board meetings, and often the day of the board meetings.


  • John McCulloch, President, Royal Oak
  • Veda A. Sharp, MSW, 1st Vice President, Detroit
  • Hansen Clarke, 2nd Vice President, Detroit
  • Jane Shank, MSW, Treasurer, Interlochen
  • Paul Palmer, Secretary, Lansing
  • Thomas Landry, Immediate Past President, Highland


  • Pamela Bellamy, Ph.D., Lansing
  • Alethea Brinkerhoff, Bloomfield Hills
  • Terri Lynn Land, Byron Center
  • Douglas P. Olsen, East Lansing
  • Selena M. Schmidt, Shelby Township
  • Mark Stephenson, Troy
  • Kate Pew Wolters, Grand Rapids
  • Mark Wiedelman, Troy

Members Emeritus

No members at this time

Approved Meeting Minutes 

Board Meetings